FA confirm Southern Premier line up for 2017/18

4 months ago By Jeremy Fox

The FA have announced the constitution of the Southern League Premier Divsion for next season.

The Football Association confirmed the make up of the Southern Premier Division over the weekend which has an enticing local flavour to it.

There will be Hampshire derbies against Basingstoke Town and Farnborough Town, while a little further afield, Boro' will renew rivalries with the Dorset pair of Weymouth and Dorchester and Somerset based Frome Town whom the club have played annual friendlies against in recent years.

Slough, now happily settled back in their own area at Arbor Park after many years of ground sharing will also present a stern test.

One trip to Devon awaits with a visit to Ladysmead and Tiverton Town with the clubs having last met in January 2012 with Gosport losing 3-1. Hereford will be a massive game for the club at home and away while the trip to Wales and Merthyr Town will prove to be interesting.

A group of clubs in the Luton area means Boro' will be well acquainted with the M1 while there are familiar opponents in Bishops Stortford who have also been relegated from the National South.

Further afield, in the Midlands Gosport will head to Redditch United, Banbury United and Stratford Town while Kings Lynn will be amongst the further ever away trips for a regular league game.

Full constitution of the Southern League's Premier Divison for 2017/17 (all clubs played in the Southern Premier in 2016/17 unless stated):
Banbury United
Basingstoke Town
Biggleswade Town
Bishops Stortford (relegated from National League South)
Chesham Town
Dorchester Town
Dunstable Town
Farnborough (promoted from Southern League Central via play-offs)
Frome Town
Gosport Borough (relegated from National League South)
Hereford (promoted from Southern League South & West as Champions)
Hitchin Town
Kettering Town
Kings Lynn Town
Kings Langley
Merthyr Town
Redditch United
Royston Town (promoted from Southern League Central as Champions)
Slough Town
St Ives Town
St Neots Town
Stratford Town
Tiverton Town (promoted from Southern League South & West via play-offs)

Updated 07:43 - 31 May 2017 by Site Manager

Where next?

Weekend roundup - Ladies and Development Squad Georgie Hoban's Boro' Ladies beat Basingstoke whilst the Development Squad were presented with the Wyvern Midweek Championship Trophy.
Showcase finale for league champions Gosport Borough's Development Squad are to be presented with the Wyvern Midweek League Trophy and John Stimpson Memorial Shield tomorrow night.

Wed 20 Sep
Academy Chippenham Town
League 14:00
Sat 23 Sep
First team Stratford Town
League 15:00
Sun 24 Sep
League 14:00
Tue 26 Sep
First team Kings Langley
League 19:45
Wed 27 Sep
League 14:00
Sat 30 Sep
First team Hitchin Town
League 15:00
League 15:00

News sponsors


Club sponsors