Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Gosport Borough Football Club


First team - Match centre

Gosport Borough
Kettering Town
Full time
Unknown (12', 19', 25', 58', 73', 84', 86')
Tue 17 Apr 19:45 - The Evo-Stik South - Premier Attendance 241

Borough edge closer to drop after heavy defeat

Gosport edged closer to the Premier Division trapdoor with a heavy 7-0 defeat against Kettering Town at Privett Park.

A demoralised Boro' were outplayed by the play-off chasing visitors.

With three games left Gosport remain two points behind relegation rivals Dunstable Town. However, Borough have played one game more and have an inferior goal difference.

There was a surprise return for Craig McAlister in Gosport’s starting line-up. The striker had walked out of the club to join Blackfield & Langley six weeks ago but is back at Privett Park.

Borough started positively and Toyosi Olusanya almost headed home at the far post.

Kettering dampened the home spirits, though by taking a 12th-minute lead. Ben Milnes’ shot was blocked inside the area before Matthew Stephens struck home the rebound.

The hosts had a let off when Harry Medway fouled Rhys Hoeness and the referee pointed to the penalty spot. However, on the advice his assistant, the official changed his decision to a free-kick on the edge of the area.

The visitors extended their lead on 19 minutes when Brett Solkhon hammered the ball into the roof of the net from a corner.

Gosport’s best effort also came from a corner with a goal-bound McAlister header tipped onto the bar by the visiting keeper.

There was no respite for the hosts and in the 25th minute Solkhon coolly converted a penalty following a foul by Nathan Walker.

Borough keeper Patrick O’Flaherty produced four top-drawer saves at the start of the second half. A fourth goal was inevitable, though, with Rene Howe netting on 58 minutes.

Stephens added a fifth goal in the 73rd minute, Howe notched his second of the game before Aaron O’Connor rubbed salt into the wound in the closing minutes of the clash.

Win a share of £250k for your club

Key moments

Goal Goal for Kettering Town
Goal Goal for Kettering Town
Goal Goal for Kettering Town
Goal Goal for Kettering Town
Goal Goal for Kettering Town
Goal Goal for Kettering Town
Goal Goal for Kettering Town


View 0 new events
86:00 Goal 0 - 7
Goal for Kettering Town
84:00 Goal 0 - 6
Goal for Kettering Town
76:00 Sub Off
Ben Wright is substituted off for Gosport Borough
76:00 Sub On
Matthew Morris is substituted on for Gosport Borough
73:00 Goal 0 - 5
Goal for Kettering Town
68:00 Sub Off
Eddie Wakley is substituted off for Gosport Borough
68:00 Sub On
Scott Walters is substituted on for Gosport Borough
59:00 Sub On
Luca Wrightman is substituted on for Gosport Borough
59:00 Sub Off
Toyosi Olusanya is substituted off for Gosport Borough
58:00 Goal 0 - 4
Goal for Kettering Town
End of period 1
25:00 Goal 0 - 3
Goal for Kettering Town
19:00 Goal 0 - 2
Goal for Kettering Town
12:00 Goal 0 - 1
Goal for Kettering Town
Start of the game
Replay game

As it happened

  • Gosport Borough
  • Kettering Town
  • 0
  • Goal 12:00'
  • Goal 19:00'
  • Goal 25:00'
  • Goal 58:00'
  • Luca Wrightman Sub On 59:00'
  • Toyosi Olusanya Sub Off 59:00'
  • Eddie Wakley Sub Off 68:00'
  • Scott Walters Sub On 68:00'
  • Goal 73:00'
  • Ben Wright Sub Off 76:00'
  • Matthew Morris Sub On 76:00'
  • Goal 84:00'
  • Goal 86:00'

Team selection

League round up

Other Premier results

St Ives Town
St Neots Town
Basingstoke Town
Bishop's Stortford
Tiverton Town
Dorchester Town

League table

# Team Pl Pts
18. Dorchester Town 43 49
19. Bishop's Stortford 43 48
20. Farnborough 44 48
21. Kings Langley 44 38
22. St Ives Town 42 31
23. Dunstable Town 42 13
24. Gosport Borough 43 11

Team sponsors


Club sponsors